In honor of yesterday, here are 12 interesting facts about #12 and the Phillies:

**1950 NL Champions: OF Bill (Swish) Nicholson

**1980 World Champions: CH Ruben Amaro Sr.

**1983 NL Champions: 1B Len Matuszek **1993 NL Champions: 2B Mickey Morandini

**2008 World Champions: OF Matt Stairs

**2009 NL Champions: OF Matt Stairs

**Currently: CH Juan Samuel

**Most years: Tony Taylor and Mickey Morandini, 8 years each

**MLB debut: 9/10/47: 3B Wilie (Puddiin’ Head) Jones

**MLB debut: 9/1/04: 1B Ryan Howard

**Spring training 2005: Ryan Howard (switched to #6 when season started)

**First Phillies player: 1932, 2B/3B Les Mallon (1932 was the first season the Phillies started wearing numbers)

Trivia Question

Can you name the first Phillies player to win the MVP Award?

Answer can be found at www.phillies.com/alummni.

Did You Ever Wonder?

If a batted ball hits the foul pole, why is it a fair ball?


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: