Hard to believe

Let’s see.  Charlie was runner-up for the NL Manager of the Year Award in both 2007 and 2008. This year, his Phillies won back-to-back pennants for the first time in franchise history.

So, how did he do in the voting this time?  He finished sixth.  Baseball Writers Association of America voters must have been asleep during the season.

Charlie isn’t the only Phillies manager to be ignored by the BBWAA voting since the award started in 1983.  Only Larry Bowa (2001) has won the BBWAA Award.

The Associated Press has also given similar awards and they have been more Phillie friendly:
Eddie Sawyer, 1950
Gene Mauch, 1962
Gene Mauch, 1964
Danny Ozark, 1976
Jim Fregosi, 1993

MVP Awards
AL will be announced on Monday, NL on Tuesday.  Doubt a Phillie will be honored by the BBWAA on Tuesday. 

Happy Birthday
Big day for Phillies birthdays Thursday: Bob Boone, Dickie Noles, Clay Condrey and Ryan Howard.

Phillies Insider is on twitter as barons63.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: