Alumni News


The fans have spoken.  15 Phillies Alumni has been boiled down to five finalists for the 2008 inductee into the Phillies Wall of Fame. 

Fan voting took part during a four-week period in spring training.  Now, a special WOF Selection Committee is voting to see who will be inducted on Friday night, August 9, before the game with the Pirates.  The Committee includes members of the media and Phillies executives.

The five finalists, in alphabetical order, are catcher Darren Daulton, outfielder Lenny Dykstra, outfielder Greg Gross, first baseman John Kruk and second baseman Juan Samuel.

Most of the Wall of Fame members will be at Citizens Bank Park for the August 9 pre-game event, including Robin Roberts, Mike Schmidt and Steve Carlton, three Hall of Famers.

Where are they now?

Phillies Alumni who are managing in the minors: Ryne Sandberg (A ball-Peoria), Marc Bombard (AAA-Charlotte), Bobby Thigpen (R-Bristol), Don Money (AA-Huntsville), Nick Leyva (R-Kingsport), Randy Ready (AAA, Portland), Jim Morrison (A, Vero Beach), John Stearns (AA, Harrisburg), Ramon Aviles (R-Vermont).

Minor league coaches: Calvin Madura (R, Sarasota), Darold Knowles (A, Dunedin). Sixto Lezcano (R, Orlando), Billy McMillon (A, Greenville), Derrick May (AA, Springfield, TX).

Broadcasting: Tim McCarver (FOX), Joe Morgan (ESPN), Kruk (ESPN), Buck Martinez (Orioles and XM Radio), Ed Farmer (White Sox), Rex Hudler (Angels), Todd Kalas (Rays), Jeff Brantley (Reds), Tommy Hutton (Marlins), Cookie Rojas (Marlins), Bob Uecker (Brewers), Bob Walk (Pirates), Mike Krukow (Giants).

NOTE: Phillies Insider will be on a break until Monday, the 21st.

1 Comment

I think the nominations are good ones but I feel like we have really done a disservice to Jim Konstanty. Konstanty is the only relief pitcher in the history of the game to win the MVP, led our team to its second World Series appearance, and is a prominent members of Phillies lure.

I understand most Phillies fans never saw him pitch at this point (myself included I am 36) but let us not forget our past for favorites from our present.

For the record, my vote for the five finalists goes to John Kruk!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: