November 21

Leftovers from yesterday’s MVP Award for Jimmy Rollins….

**Last time teammates won back-to-back MVP Awards in the NL was 2000-2001, Jeff Kent and Barry Bonds of the Giants.

**Last time two home-grown players have done the same, 1978-79, Dave Parker and Willie Stargell of the Pirates.

**Jimmy is the second Encinal High School product to win the NL Award.  The other was Stargell.

**Jimmy joins Marty Marion (Cardinals, 1944), Ernie Banks (Cubs, 1958 and 1959), **** Groat (Pirates, 1960), Maury Wills (Dodgers, 1962) and Barry Larkin (Reds, 1995) as NL shortstops who have won the Award.

Today’s Chart
Best stats of the shortstops who are NL MVPs:
Average–Groat, .325
Games–Wills, 165
At-bats–Rollins, 716
Runs–Rollins, 139
Hits–Rollins, 212
Doubles–Rollins, 38
Triples–Rollins, 20
Home runs–Banks, 47 (1958)
RBI–Banks, 143 (1959)
Stolen bases–Wills, 104

Speaking of leftovers, Happy Thanksgiving.  Leave some turkey for sandwiches on Friday!

1 Comment

In the company of some pretty good ball players!
Hope the Phillies know what they have and will spend to go all the way. Sign Aaron! I don’t think the pitching your looking for is out there unless you go to Japan.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: